The Park District works to be a leader among park and recreation agencies throughout the country.  By voluntarily submitting itself to the accreditation and awards processes listed below, the community and staff can be assured that the Park District meets or exceeds current industry standards and has processes in place to best serve the Oak Park community.   

National Parks & Recreation Association (NRPA) Gold Medal Award –

2022 Gold Medal Finalist  

2021 Gold Medal Finalist

2015 Gold Medal Winner 

1966 Gold Medal Winner

The Gold Medal Award, managed through the American Academy for Park and Recreation Administration (AAPRA), in partnership with the National Recreation and Park Association, honors communities in the United States that demonstrate excellence in parks and recreation through long-range planning, resource management, volunteerism, environmental stewardship, program development, professional development and agency recognition. A Gold Medal Award is valid for five years.

Commission for Accreditation of Park & Recreation Agencies (CAPRA) National Accreditation: 



CAPRA is the only national accreditation of park and recreation agencies and is a valuable measure of an agency’s overall quality of operation, management, and service to the community. Achieving CAPRA accreditation is the best way to demonstrate that the agency and staff provide the community with the highest level of service.

Illinois Distinguished Agency Accreditation



This accreditation is awarded to Park Districts by the Illinois Association of Park Districts and the Illinois Parks & Recreation Association. It is granted to those that work toward improving the quality of life for Illinois residents and to recognize those agencies that provide exceptional Park and Recreation services to their community through a voluntary, comprehensive, professional accreditation process.

Alliance for Innovation Robert J. Havlick Award for Innovation in Local Government for our submission, “Launch Pad: Getting Good Ideas Off the Ground”

Park District Risk Management Agency (PDRMA) Level A Accreditation

Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting


Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) Distinguished Budget Presentation Award



2020, Platinum International Aquatic Safety Award

2021, Platinum International Aquatic Safety Award

Ellis & Associates:  International Audit Awards benchmarking aquatic safety excellence via unannounced audits.

2016 , ILSTMA Field of the Year for Longfellow Park.

2017, Soccer Field of the Year for Longfellow Park

2017-2023, Environmental Facility Certification for Longfellow Park

American Camping Association (ACA) Accredited since 1998, 24 years total

The American Camp Association is the only nationwide accrediting organization for all types and designs of organized camps. ACA standards focus on health, safety, and risk management practices. Accreditation provides a framework to manage resources, offer best practices in policies and procedures, and strive for continuous improvement.

Skip to content