

Community Service Awards

February 2023

Celebrating our partnership with citizens that have made a significant impact in our community and the quality of life for our residents.



Recent Community Award Winners

2021

Mary Jo Schuler Dr. David Ansell Edward Kerros Laura Thompson Nancy Waichler Jill Allread Cate Readling Marcia Lehman

2020

Isabel Romero Calvo Ann Courter Kathie Gillies Donna Makow Mary Ellen Murphy Mary O' Kiersey Martha Yount

2019

Donald "Don" Nekrousious OPRF Senior Citizens Center Board

2018

Frank Heitzman Gary Cuneen Margaret Scully Maria Kunigk Renne Davis

2017

Charlie Saville Laura Thompson Tom Kindlerinet

DEDICATED COMMUNITY MEMBERS MAKE A DIFFERENCE



Community Engagement and **Inclusivity** are core values of the Park District of Oak Park and ones that each of the four men we honor tonight share. Getting involved and speaking up for all members of our community means showing up, building trust, leaning into difficult conversations, and forging partnerships. The following individuals embody both values through participation and action. For that, we honor the following recipients with the *Park District's Community Service Award:* **Wiley Samuels, George Bailey, Carl Spight, and Lee Pulliam.**

Over the past three years, we forged a relationship with this group by conducting regularly scheduled calls and/or meetings. During one call, the group asked the Park District how it was going to ensure that all people were able to take part in building the facility. Following additional conversations and some brainstorming, the Park District engaged our construction management firm to establish a **Minority and Women-Owned**

DEDICATED COMMUNITY MEMBERS MAKE A DIFFERENCE



Sustainability and **Community Engagement** are core values of the Park District of Oak Park. **Laura Stamp** embodies these values in her role as educator and community advocate. As a result of her involvement and work on various initiatives, we are pleased to honor **Laura** with the Park District's *Community Service Award*.

Laura Stamp first connected with the Park District in 2013, when she reached out to inform us about invasive plants growing at Lindberg Park. Not long after, she joined the **Environmental Sustainability Advisory Committe** and later the **Park District Citizen's Committee** to share her passion for advancing environmental efforts in the community and expertise as a science teacher. In 2016, she engaged community members and youth to form a group called *Austin Guards*. She led this group in educating the community on the true impact that a new high rise would have on the vegetation and user experience in the park.

Business goal for awarding contracts and ultimately set a **25%** target for **MWBE** contract awards; a goal never tried by any Oak Park government entity. To help achieve this goal, we conducted targeted outreach to **MWBE's** to raise awareness and provide information prior to bidding. As a result, we surpassed our initial goal and awarded **29%** of contracts for the construction of the **CRC** to **Minority and Women-Owned Businesses**.

It was through the involvement of these four men that the Park District stretched itself in new ways; ways that benefitted the community and provided a broader engagement of contractors. Their involvement made a difference.

The Park District and staff are sincerely grateful to **Wiley**, **George, Carl** and **Lee** for their involvement. They have pushed us to do better in all aspects of our inclusivity efforts.



Laura has been actively engaged and instrumental in highlighting sustainability opportunities and affecting change through her involvement in a variety of green groups within Oak Park and throughout Illinois. She is passionate, funny and a genuine environmentalist!

The Park District and staff are sincerely grateful to Laura for her leadership, advocacy and passion for educating and engaging youth in making a difference in their community and the world. She helps us to look for different ways to engage the talents of our community to make the world a better place.





To the 2022 recipients of the IAPD/IPRA Community Service Awards

> Wiley Samuels George Bailey Carl Spight Lee Pulliam Laura Stamp

The Illinois Association of Park Districts and the Illinois Park and Recreation Association annually present Community Service Awards to individuals and organizations in recognition and appreciation of their outstanding contribution and unselfish devotion for the advancement of parks, recreation and leisure in the community and the state of Illinois.

OUR MISSION

In partnership with the community, we enrich lives by providing meaningful experiences through programs, parks and facilities.

OUR VISION

We strive for excellence in serving the well-being and recreational needs to our diverse community through a collaborative, innovative, and sustainable approach.

2023 BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS

Kathleen Porreca • President Jake Worley-Hood • Vice President Christopher Wollmuth • Secretary David Wick • Treasurer Sandy Lentz • Commissioner







